The George Balanchine Foundation
Balanchine Catalogue
Balanchine Catalogue Archive

Search by title, year, composer, cast or production details.

Georges Bizet (Symphony No. 1 in C major, 1855)
George Balanchine
Lighting by Jean Rosenthal
March 22, 1948, Ballet Society, City Center of Music and Drama, New York. Conductor: Leon Barzin
FIRST MOVEMENT (ALLEGRO VIVO): Maria Tallchief, Nicholas Magallanes; SECOND MOVEMENT (ADAGIO): Tanaquil Le Clercq, Francisco Moncion; THIRD MOVEMENT (ALLEGRO VIVACE): Beatrice Tompkins, Herbert Bliss; FOURTH MOVEMENT (ALLEGRO VIVACE): Elise Reiman, John Taras (in each movement, 2 demi-solo couples, 6 women); FINALE: Entire cast
Performance Type
See Also
Originally presented by the Paris Opéra Ballet, 1947, titled Le Palais de Cristal [240]. Presented with Concerto Barocco [195] and Orpheus [246] at the first performance of the New York City Ballet, October 11, 1948.
Additional Productions
New Productions by Balanchine Companies
1950, New York City Ballet, with costumes by Karinska
Source Notes
John Taras, Victoria Simon