The George Balanchine Foundation
Balanchine Catalogue
Balanchine Catalogue Archive

Search by title, year, composer, cast or production details.

Peter Ilyitch Tschaikovsky (entr’acte from The Sleeping Beauty, 1890, orchestrated by Ivan Boutnikoff)
George Balanchine
March 14, 1945, Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo, City Center of Music and Drama, New York. Conductor: Emanuel Balaban
Alexandra Danilova, Frederic Franklin
Performance Type
See Also
In 1955, Balanchine interpolated this music in its original form as a violin cadenza into Act I of his production of The Nutcracker for the New York City Ballet.
Source Notes

Additional music information provided by Balanchine, Gordon Boelzner