The George Balanchine Foundation
Balanchine Catalogue
Balanchine Catalogue Archive

Search by title, year, composer, cast or production details.

Peter Ilyitch Tschaikovsky (Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74, 1893 [first movement omitted])
George Balanchine (ADAGIO LAMENTOSO) and Jerome Robbins
Costumes for ADAGIO LAMENTOSO by Rouben Ter-Arutunian
June 14, 1981, New York City Ballet, New York State Theater. Conductor: Robert Irving
FOURTH MOVEMENT, ADAGIO LAMENTOSO: Karin von Aroldingen, Judith Fugate, Stephanie Saland; 16 women; 12 Angels; group of hooded figures; child
Performance Type
The first movement of the symphony was omitted; the second, ALLEGRO CON GRAZIA, was choreographed by Robbins; the third, ALLEGRO MOLTO VIVACE, was played by the orchestra with curtain lowered. The fourth and final movement was Balanchine’s ADAGIO LAMENTOSO: Women mourners danced in grief; angels with tall white wings and hooded figures in purple were followed by a procession of monks who prostrated themselves to form a living cross; a child entered carrying a candle. To the final chords, the child extinguished the candle. The ADAGIO LAMENTOSO closed the Tchaikovsky Festival of the New York City Ballet. (See FESTIVALS DIRECTED BY BALANCHINE.)
Source Notes
Music information provided by Gordon Boelzner